Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

What’s my motivation?

2 Comments

I took a long time deciding to go through with this surgery. I just couldn’t wrap my mind around the need for something so invasive when I had no trouble with my knee just two short years ago. I kept thinking there must be something else that I can do, something that would help me without requiring a giant scar down the middle of my leg. I’m not vain. That scar will represent all of the pain and hard work that goes into this recovery.

At first, I struggled to truly understand why I should move forward with the surgery. Why it was the best option. But soon enough I started to realize everything that had been taken away from me. I have trouble getting my feet on the floor in the morning. I have trouble going up and down stairs. I used to love hiking, but now I struggle to walk up a simple incline. I used to be a competitive showman, but I was in tears after the first show this year because the aching pain was so overwhelming by the end of the day. I’m way too young to have all these “used to’s” in my life. So when it came right down to it, my decision was made for me.

I haven’t exactly been sitting around feeling sorry for myself. I’ve replaced a lot of the things that I don’t do anymore with new activities. But that doesn’t keep me from missing some of the things that I love. And then there’s this guy.

Stryker

This is Stryker. He’s a 5-year-old Gypsy Vanner stallion. And he’s all the motivation I really need. I’m looking forward to the day that I can, quite literally, get back on the horse.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

2 thoughts on “What’s my motivation?

  1. Pingback: Hazard pay and, on an unrelated note, horses | Just What I Kneeded

  2. Pingback: Gypsy portrait | Just What I Kneeded

Leave a Reply

