Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

A different breed

Leave a comment

Anesthesiologists are, like, doctors. Ok, they’re doctors. But not like any other doctor you’re going to see. You meet them minutes before surgery, minutes before you literally place your life in their hands and trust them to keep your heart beating.

Just like with everything else in the whole world, some anesthesiologists are better than others. Some have a better bedside manner; some are better at controlling post-op nausea. Each one has a different order to things before they push the plunger and send you off to dreamland. Some don’t even tell you when that’s going to happen; it’s just a fun surprise. I’ve never met with an anesthesiologist for more than 10 minutes (most times it’s more like 5 minutes), and I’ve only seen them one more time when I get to the OR. I never meet with them after surgery. Their work is done while I’m completely unaware. Which is good since it’s their job to keep me unaware. But what, exactly, does the anesthesiologist do in the OR?

Grey’s Anatomy has led me to believe that the anesthesiologists are the gossips of the OR. They’re the ones who know what those residents were doing in the call room last Thursday night. They’re the ones who know where the party’s at and who’s going. They can do the NYT crossword puzzle while sitting at the head of the bed with their feet propped up inches from the patient. I know this isn’t real because I’ve been informed that TV isn’t really real. So I found this on YouTube. It explains what anesthesiologists really do. And it’s a musical!

Ok, ok. That’s probably not real either. I won’t ever know though because I’m asleep when they do their thing. Regardless of what they do when I’m asleep, I’d really appreciate it if my anesthesiologist was singing when I walk into the OR:

Hey, I told you that I have a YouTube obsession.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

