Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

It’s only a day away

Leave a comment

This is my requisite, “Ahhh, it’s tomorrow!” post. I’m less nervous than I anticipated, but I’m glad I took the day off work because I would be useless there. More than I’m worried, I’m irritated that I can’t eat or drink after midnight tonight. I aways hate that part because I really want to eat my worries away.

There’s lots of helpful-ish advice online when it comes to making sure you’re ready for surgery and a lengthy recovery. I’ve spent a lot of time looking at this helpful-ish information and wondering what I really need to get done now and what I can just, kind of, play by ear. Some of the helpful-ish tips make sense. Some don’t.

Be prepared. I spent a lot of time these last two days finishing up last minute things, so I don’t know how I could possibly be more prepared. I’ve been worrying about this day for more than 7 months, and that’s been especially ramped up since I actually scheduled it 2 months ago. I have my support group in place, my Netflix subscription ready to go, the shower chair where it needs to be, and I have about 12 extra pillows to prop up my knee.

Have a game day strategy. Yeah, not so much. My strategy is to roll out of bed, throw on some sweats and head to the surgery center. My sister is coming down to stay with me for the first two days, so she’ll take me. When I texted her the time, she said “that’s doable.” Um, you bet it is. Get your rear end down here.

Try hypnosis. The instructions here weren’t very specific, so I’m not exactly sure what this is supposed to accomplish. Am I supposed to hypnotize the pain away? Or should I just hypnotize myself into believing that I’m on a warm sandy beach with a lifeguard straight out of Baywatch (not the Hoff, though, a good-looking one)?

Breathe in. This one didn’t actually say anything about the breathing out part, and I’m not sure how holding my breath is going to help anything…

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

