Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Looking forward to getting back

Leave a comment

The morning after surgery, I had a visit from the PT guy. I’m terribly sorry that I don’t remember his name, so he’s just PT guy. One of the first things he asked was “What do we need to get you back to doing?” I listed off the most important things.

Me: “Horseback riding. Number one. Biking. And hiking.”

PT guy: “Oh, yeah? That’s kind of a list. Where do you go hiking?”

Me: “All over. But I really liked Red River Gorge in Kentucky the best so far.”

PT guy: “Oh, I’ve been there to do some rock climbing. Pretty fun!”

Me: “Cool. I’ve never been rock climbing, but let’s add that to my list in case I want to down the road.”

So, now I have a new goal in life! Rock climbing. Seems achievable. The next year is going to be pretty darn full because I plan to get back to competing, biking (remember, I’m doing a century ride October 2013), hiking, and now learning how to climb big rocks. I can focus on all these things while I’m still laid up here attached to the CPM 24/7.

This is the eighth day of bedridden-ess. I won’t lie. It stinks. But at least I know why I’m doing this. And I have a pretty colorful show watching the bruises crawl down my leg. It’s the only entertainment I have right now. I just can’t watch any more Netflix.

Colorful bruising on day 6

I have a wicked one on the back of my knee where the blood has pooled, but sadly, I can’t get a decent picture of it. I can’t stand up in a position that makes it easy to get a shot, but I’ll keep working on it.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

