Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Prison break

1 Comment

I broke out yesterday. Ok, well, it wasn’t really a break out. It was more like they let me out of prison and helped me escape.

I’d been tied to the CPM (continuous passive motion) machine for 12 days, and I just needed a breath of fresh air. I was given the ok on Friday to decrease my time in the CPM incrementally, so we took advantage of that yesterday. The sun was shining, the breeze was blowing, and the time was right. My sister had come down for the weekend to look after me, so she gamely said “Let’s do this!” She informed me that she had to pack more for me to go out than she does for her kids anymore (they’re 3 and 5), but we made it out the door. Obviously, I was in my brace and on crutches. But we also had to take my portable ice pack, two pillows (one for my leg and one for my back because I had to sit cross-wise on the back seat), and a barf bag (the nausea just won’t quit).

Getting down the stairs wasn’t too much trouble. I used one crutch and the banister to move down the stairs. “Up with the good, down with the bad.”

I love going out to a park on the west wide of town, so we headed there. I was surprised to see them, but the white-tailed deer were actually out during the day. So we drove around for a while just enjoying the fall day before we found a picnic bench close to a parking area. The picnic bench wasn’t very far away from where we parked, but it required walking over grass, so it was slow going. Mostly, I just wanted to be super careful that nothing would trip me up. I have a bit of trouble bringing my leg forward, so I can’t lift my foot very far off the ground. Makes shag carpeting and grass slightly tricky.

My goodness, but did the sunshine and fresh air feel good! We sat long enough to eat lunch, but not much longer because my hip was hurting from the stress of having my leg out straight on a picnic bench with no back rest. Seems silly, right? But we decided it was enough for the first outing, so I slowly made my way back to the car, and we headed home after another short drive around the park.

Last night, I started to get a little bit down about all the beautiful fall days that I’ve missed while cooped up at home. Fall is absolutely my favorite time of the year, and there is always so much to do. Bonfires! Pumpkin carving! Hay rides! Cider! The last few weeks of really decent weather to go riding. I’m feeling a bit left out of fall this year. I can’t dwell on it too much, though, because it’s time for my exercises again.

Prison break

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

One thought on “Prison break

  1. Laura- Glad to here that you were able to get out of the house and enjoy some fresh air! My wife, fabulous baker and cook that she is, would like to make you a meal or two and some baked goods for you to freeze and eat over the next week or so. Do you have any favorite meals or baked goods to request? Shoot me an email. Also, my kids just love the Call Me Maybe video. They still haven’t stopped requesting that I play it. -David

Leave a Reply

