Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Rock star

Leave a comment

I had another therapy session today to rehab my right knee after having extensive reconstructive surgery about a month ago (DeNovo NT tissue graft and tibial tubercle osteotomy). It was another round of the same exercises that I’ve been doing for three weeks now. Boring, but it keeps me honest.

The last two times that I went to therapy, I had the e-stim (or as I like to call it “shock therapy“) to try to help bring some life back to my VMO (vastus medialis oblique). The first time wasn’t bad, but he cranked it up the second time, and it wasn’t what I’d call pleasant. I’ve spent a lot of my time between PT sessions trying to re-engage my VMO. I’ve practiced very hard and encouraged it by screaming obscenities at it. I thought I was making pretty good progress over the last five days. So today, when my therapist was going to hook me up again, I was all, “Wait! You’re not even going to let me show off a little so you can see how I can make my heel come up now?!”

He took off the one pad that he’d put in place, and I was all, “Boom. Now that’s a heel pop.” I could tell he was impressed because we ended up not doing the e-stim today. Score!

We worked some more on my extension, flexion and leg raises. I asked about my scar and whether it looked ok. He said it looks better than a lot of them he sees after surgery. I asked about massaging it because he told me I could the last time I was there, but I don’t actually know what I’m doing. And I don’t know what I’m aiming for. He told me that the mobility wasn’t too bad, but it’s still “boggy.” Not sure what that means other than swollen.

As we were leaving, my PT said I was looking really good for the surgery that I had and the restrictions that I’m under.

PT: “You’re looking really good for the surgery that you had and the restrictions you’re under.”

Me: “You know my goal is to become the valedictorian of knee surgery, right?”

PT: “Yeah, I know. You told me.”

Me: “Well, I need to impress my doc the next time I see him in two weeks.”

PT: “Didn’t you already impress him?”

Me: “Yeah, but that was more than two weeks ago! I need to do more!”

So, I guess as long as I have my main goal in mind, I’ll figure out a way to keep plugging through these same exercises for the next 16 days. Not that I’m counting…

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

