Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

So many questions

Leave a comment

When I see my physical therapist on Friday (in 2 days), I’m going to barrage him with all the questions that I’ve been writing down for the last week. I’m bored, so the list is perhaps more extensive than if I’d had my usual no time to do anything.

What do you think is going to happen at the next appointment with my surgeon? Do you think that I’ll be able to ditch the brace, or do you think he’s going to just unlock it so that I can start bending my knee? What if he tells me it’s another 4 weeks locked in extension?! (PT hates when I ask him what he thinks is going to happen because he has no clue. So I just keep asking for my own entertainment.)

Can I start pool therapy? Does that mean I can walk in the pool? Or does that mean I can swim? Can I kick? Do I have to look like I’m just learning to swim and use a flotation device? Because I think we all know that’s not going to happen.

When do you think I can start climbing big rocks? I already found a local place where I can learn the basics of rock climbing, and their next session starts November 7. Doable? (Then I guess I’ll just wait until he stops laughing before I force him to give me a timeframe.)

How’s the scar look? I’ve been working hard on the massage, and I think that the mobility has improved, especially at the distal end over the bone cut. I don’t think it looks that good though. What’s with all the puckering? And why do I have two dimples on the side of the scar?

Can you tell that I’ve slacked off on my exercises this week? Because I have. You have no idea how hard it is to get motivated to do any exercises when you’ve been doing them 6 times a day for the past 5 weeks!

When can I get back on the bike? It’s sitting there waiting, calling for me. Actually, it’s taunting me; I named it Sue Sylvester, so I don’t expect anything less. When are you going to let me ride outside? What’s the big concern with riding outside versus the exercise bike? I know where the flats and where the hills are on my routes. Don’t think I don’t already strategically ride to avoid hills.

Based on early assessment, do you think I can do a century next October? I don’t care if that’s a whole year away. I want answers now, man!

Do you know any tasty recipes? Not off the top of your head? That’s ok. Can you bring a recipe next time?

Do you know any good personal trainers around here? I’ll need one to kick my butt back into shape, and I left my trainer behind in Cincinnati.

What do you think about tattoos? I’ve been watching LA Ink on the Netflix, and now I really want a tattoo. I was thinking maybe one that looks like a nasty zombie bite over the scar on my knee. I was thinking zipper at first, but that’s not exactly original.

I’ll be surprised if he doesn’t transfer me to a different PT before the end of the session. But that’s cool. Because then I can ask my questions all over again.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

