Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Frankenstorm

Leave a comment

First off, I just want to say my thoughts are with all of those on the east coast who are dealing with the after effects of Hurricane Sandy. I’ve been watching the news constantly, and some of the images of the water rushing in are just unreal. The weather here in the Midwest has turned cold, rainy and windy. It’s nothing like they’re dealing with out east, but it’s certainly enough to make me happy to be holed up inside even though I’ve been complaining about that for weeks now. So thanks, Frankenstorm, for giving me a fresh perspective.

I did (finally) get to leave the house for a little bit yesterday. My sister came down to take me to an unrelated doctor’s appointment, and I decided to make that trip out of the house worth it. So I also made her take me to get a pedicure. Yep. I needed a little pampering. It was tricky because my knee is still very sore/sensitive, so I had to explain that there could be no sudden movements, no massage, and no holding my foot in the air (sometimes that just happens). I swear my pedicurist was pouting because she takes a lot of pride in her work, but I can’t take any chances. Imagine if something happened how I’d explain to my surgeon that I’d had a setback because I decided I needed a pedicure. Uh, yeah… That wouldn’t happen. I’d be forced to lie. And there’d probably be wolves or the Russian mafia involved. Thankfully, all went well. I liked my pedicurist before, and it’s possible I love her now. She was so gentle with everything and asked before moving my leg each time. Now I have no reason to lie, and my feet feel more human than monster.

My day out didn’t end there though. No sir. I then had my chauffeur/butler take me to The Flying Cupcake and run inside for a delicious little fall treat that I like to call “Heaven in Four Bites.” I think they call it “Pumpkin Patch” though. Also, it should probably take you more than 4 bites to eat it. Don’t worry; I got 2 so I could really savor the second one.

We still weren’t done. I had promised my chauffeur/sister that, if she made the 2-hour drive down to take me to my appointment, I’d take her to dinner. Her choice as long as I could prop my leg up. I nearly fell asleep in my food because I was already exhausted–this was seriously more energy than I’ve expended in 6 weeks… probably total. But we muddled through.

One last stop at the grocery store for a few essentials on the way home, and we were done. I was SO completely done, I headed straight to bed. It was there, when I went to take off my brace, that I realized just how much my relatively short (<6 hours) trip out of the house negatively impacted my knee. I was sitting at the edge of the bed, and I realized that I couldn’t bend my knee at all. Not at all. It didn’t look terribly swollen, but it was stiff beyond belief. Blurg. I then spent the next hour flexing and extending my knee to get it moving again. It finally came around to some extent, so I hooked it up to the ice machine and went to sleep. I’m going to blame this one on being locked in that darn brace while up and about. Not on my need for a pedi and cupcakes.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

