Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Back on the bike

Leave a comment

For 10 whole minutes! Sure, there was no resistance and I was barely going faster than a turtle, but that’s not the point. The point is that I was ON. THE. BIKE.

I had my second post-op appointment with my surgeon today (third, if you count the wound check at 10 days, and I don’t). He gave me an A+.

OS: “This is great; I didn’t think it would be this good.”

ME: “Uh… Good thing you didn’t tell me that before surgery.”

OS: “Well, no, I mean… eventually it would be. But not at this stage!” (I’m pretty sure he meant it with an exclamation point.)

So I’m well on my way to being the valedictorian of knee surgery. But now the pressure is on to keep up the good work. Which is why I headed down the hall after the appointment to see my physical therapist. He was all, “Let’s warm up on the bike today.” And I was all, “!&$* yeah!” I was able to get on the bike with no problem, and I was able to make a full rotation with the first try. I had been so worried about that for so long, it was a huge relief to me to be able to simply pedal. I sat there and pedaled for 10 minutes, and I savored every last second. I’m so excited about this first (baby) step back.

PT also had me work on active extension because the surgeon indicated that it’s just painful because of the weak muscles. Push through! Not a problem. I laugh in the face of pain as soon as someone tells me it’s ok to ignore and push through it. I just don’t want to damage something while ignoring my body’s alarm system. I asked my surgeon about what pain to ignore and what pain to avoid, and he said that I’m going to feel a lot of odd pain and clicks and pops as I work to make my muscles stronger. But the pain that I really need to pay attention to is pain that comes with a catching sensation. There’s a problem if I feel something catch and it doesn’t return to the way it was before. Ok, I’ll look out for that.

All in all, very good appointments today with positive news. I feel much more motivated now than I have for the last 2 weeks. Onward and upward!

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

