Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Like a vampire

Leave a comment

I’m not sure what’s going on around here. Maybe it’s an artifact of global warming. Whatever it is, the weather this weekend has been ah-mazing! It’s almost the middle of November, and it was over 70 degrees here in the middle of Indiana. It was sunny, too. Just absolutely beautiful. Of course, since this is Indiana, it was snowing when I went to physical therapy this morning.

I had the chance to escape for a bit over the weekend, and I leapt for it. Ok, I walked slowly toward the beckoning of Mother Nature. I got to go to my favorite park for a few hours on Saturday. There was a lot of sitting on park benches and watching the smaller creatures sort about for food. But also! There was some walking. Super slow and not quite steady, but I was walking on my own 2 feet. No crutches. No brace. No common sense, either, because I went way too far. By the end, my whole leg was on fire, from my hip to my toes. But I was going to finish that circle damn it. I paid for it the rest of the day, but I figure this is likely the last really nice weekend we’ll have for the next few months, so it was almost worth it. (Actually, it might not have been worth it; my PT wasn’t too pleased I’d pushed it. “Baby steps!”)

As I was sitting on the park bench by the water, I caught sight of the back of my hand. Not so much caught sight as the light practically blinded me bouncing off my alabaster skin. Oh my. The last 8 weeks of convalescence really robbed me of the last vestiges of my summer tan. And now I look very much like a Cullen. Seriously, don’t look directly at me in the sunlight. My sparkles will blind you.

Also, while sitting on the park bench, I decided that perhaps not all the squirrels that inhabit the park are inherently evil. Some are maybe just accidentally evil. There was a fenced off area with a bench nearby that had bird feeders. Among the avian swarms, there were 5 squirrels running around picking up what the birds dropped. It was pretty fun to watch because they’re kind of crabby little animals that were constantly chattering back and forth. There was one that seemed bigger, fluffier, and bossier than the rest. He was my favorite. I named him Tex. We’re going to hang out next weekend and throw acorns at unsuspecting hikers.

Maybe they're not all evil.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

