Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Sock fetish

Leave a comment

Anyone who knows me more than 24 hours, knows that I love socks. Love them. Can’t live without them. I can’t tell you the number of times that I’ve been given socks as a gift, and it never gets old. Each pair is something to get excited about. Over the years, I’ve also turned into a bit of a sock snob. There are some that you simply will not catch me wearing. Who needs individual pockets for their toes? No, those kind of socks are an abomination of nature.

I could tell you about the one time that I was a new intern at a medical device company, in their clinical research department, where I worked with smart, serious people. That when we went around the table introducing ourselves in a team meeting, telling something interesting about ourselves, I said excitedly “I love socks!” And how everyone in the room collectively gasped because they thought I said “I love sex!” But I’m not going to tell that story because it’s embarrassing. But it was a learning moment, and I now don’t share this in team meetings.

Two Christmases ago, one of my dearest friends gave me a pair of the most wonderful socks in the whole world. They were fluffy; it was kind of like I imagine walking on clouds would be like. They also had rubber buttons on the bottom so that I wouldn’t slip and fall if I was walking on linoleum or hardwood flooring. And they had minimal elastic at the open end so they didn’t cut off circulation. These socks were the best thing ever to begin with, and they were absolutely essential after surgery (DeNovo NT graft on my right knee). Especially the part where they don’t cut off circulation because my ankle was swollen from all the bruising that tracked down my shin.

I’ve added two more pairs of these glorious wonders of manufacturing. I have no clue what the brand is, but you can find them at Target. You know, if googling “fluffy cloud socks” doesn’t turn up viable search results. I strongly suggest that you go get you some. Like, now.

Best socks ever

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

