Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Thanks and thanks again

Leave a comment

This is as much a love letter as it is a thank you note. I’ve been insanely blessed with the family, friends and co-workers in my life. I really could not have survived this long without every single one of them. But now they’ve spoiled me to the point where I’m wondering when I can have surgery on my left knee so that someone brings me dinner, cleans the litter boxes and drives me to work. Is that too much?

Seriously, my gratitude knows no bounds. To all those people in my life who have brought me food, laughter and good company over the past few weeks, thank you. To everyone who has covered my projects at work and managed my clients these last few weeks, thank you. To everyone who has said a prayer, sent well wishes and generally cheered me through the rough spots, thank you. To those who have hauled my butt to and from follow-up appointments and sessions with the devil (sorry PT peeps, but you’re pretty devilish), thank you.

When I started down the road to recovery, I had people picking up my leg to move it in and out of the CPM, up and down off the couch. I had to have help getting into and out of the shower. To track my pain medicine and exercises. To make sure I was eating enough and drinking enough. To make sure I didn’t make any random or embarrassing phone calls. Thank you for everything from the bottom of my heart.

Like I said, I’m unbelievably blessed to be surrounded by so many caring souls. I love each and every one of you. Thank you!

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

