Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

T-Bone

5 Comments

I’ve talked extensively about my physical therapy following my DeNovo NT tissue graft and tibial tubercle osteotomy, but I haven’t really talked much about my therapist. I’ve heard him called “T-Bone” by the other PTs, so I’ll stick with that to protect his “innocence.”

T-Bone is the reason that I’m going to get through this rehabilitation and come out better on the other side. He’s become more important than my surgeon at this point. I think it’s possible he knows more about the basic rehab protocol than my OS. He’s done research. He always talks about research to back up what he’s telling me to do or when he’s answering my question. As a science nerd, I really appreciate that he’s current on the latest research. He’s also very thoughtful, meaning that he listens and takes the time to think through his response to my questions. I don’t feel rushed when I’m talking to him, not even on the days he has other patients at the same time. So, despite the fact that he won’t let me go rock climbing, I still think he’s a good PT.

I honestly lucked into T-Bone. I had been working with another PT in the group when I took an 8-week break to see if rest would help my knee (it didn’t). When my surgeon sent me back to therapy after the Synvisc injections that followed my brief hiatus, I couldn’t get an appointment with the initial therapist for weeks. T-Bone had an earlier appointment, and the rest, as they say, is history.

I’ve now had experience with at least 5 different therapists in 2 different states over the course of the last two years, and I wasn’t as lucky each time. But I’m getting smarter. If you’re looking for a physical therapist, I’d recommend the American Physical Therapy Association website. The association is for PT professionals, but they have a sub-site for patients; it’s called Move Forward. Here you can find all sorts of information, from choosing a physical therapist to videos on how to perform specific exercises. I found it to be a pretty decent resource.

T-Bone has dialed back my PT for the last two weeks because I can’t keep the swelling and resulting stiffness and pain under control. That hasn’t made him my favorite person in the world, but I trust him. Mostly. So I’ve been minding my p’s and q’s. Mostly.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

5 thoughts on “T-Bone

  1. Pingback: Better days « Just What I Kneeded

  2. Pingback: The world did not end « Just What I Kneeded

  3. Pingback: Doe, a deer « Just What I Kneeded

  4. Pingback: Too legit to quit « Just What I Kneeded

  5. Pingback: An unintentional hiatus | Just What I Kneeded

Leave a Reply

