Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Free entertainment

Leave a comment

I was unceremoniously dumped last night. By my three-year-old nephew. And he didn’t even give me so much as an explanation.

During the course of my convalescence, I got bored. A lot. Until I discovered something the rest of the free world has been using for years. Skype. I started Skyping with my niece and nephew, age 5 and 3, respectively. I highly recommend Skyping with little kids; the entertainment value is high. Especially kids who have never Skyped before. Hilarious. I saw up my niece’s nose the first time that we chatted because she was looking all over the computer to figure out how I was in there, and suddenly she looked over the back of the computer and all I could see was her nose.

We’ve chatted several times, and they’ve entertained me with singing, dancing, random rhyming, story telling, joke telling, and spot-on animal noises. My ‘phew makes a really good puppy. My niece and I have perfected the virtual fist bump. It took some hollering on their mom’s part to make sure she didn’t smack the computer, but we have it down now. We’ve also managed to play peek-a-boo. It’s not that hard for me to disappear when I put my thumb in front of the camera, but the ‘phew is much more elaborate hiding behind pillows on the couch.

I was talking with the kids last night when the ‘phew decided he’d provided enough free entertainment and without a word of warning shut it down. As you can see below, he just simply reaches up and shuts the laptop. Very efficient. This isn’t the first time it’s happened. He kind of ends all our sessions the same way. At least I know where I stand. He’s a busy guy, and I can only have 10 minutes of his time. I’ll take it.

Skype

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

