Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

The world did not end

Leave a comment

It’s snowing. For the first time this year, we have snow actually sticking on the ground. As far as I’m concerned, the snow can go to hell. I’m sure the people there would appreciate it much more than I do. I’m absolutely terrified to walk on the snowy ground (read extremely slippery and treacherous ground, which basically means I’m performing a death-defying stunt just by walking outside the front door). The snow has heralded the start of my self-imposed, agoraphobic imprisonment in my own home. I shan’t be going outside until the thaw in March. Or at least not until the next time I need a cupcake.

I gingerly ventured out this morning to go to PT, and it was a pretty good session. I took one of my leftover narcotics before the session so that I could put in a strong effort, and it got me through the exercises. I started off the session WINNING. I was able to pop my heel off the table without warming up with 10 minutes of quad sets first and AND without any pain. Let me say that again. Without. Any. Pain. For the first time in 13 weeks, I was able to do a simple quad contraction without pain. T-Bone and I agree that this is a huge improvement.

I still have considerable pain when doing things that require a bent knee, so we’re going to work on that now that I can do my quad contractions. I do feel that I’m getting stronger, so I’m finally seeing some improvement from the past 4-5 weeks, even if it’s not yet improvement in pain.

I’ve been using my magic unicorn cream for a little over 48 hours now, and I don’t know if I can tell a difference or not. I am supposed to use it 4 times a day, meaning I have to apply it when I’m at work. That led to a rather embarrassing scenario where I was at my desk with my foot propped up on an exercise ball and the leg of my pants pulled up to my thigh. I was rubbing my bare knee when one of the PR team members walked by. Uh… didn’t your mother tell you it’s impolite to stare? Move along.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

