Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Doe, a deer

2 Comments

I shot my first deer yesterday. With a camera, you crazy person. I’m not some quasi-hunter who thinks it’s cool to shoot down unsuspecting, and in this case, rather trusting, little animals. Honestly. (If you hunt, we’re still cool; I just don’t want to hear about it.) I named her Scarlett because, no matter how hard I try to avoid it, Rhett’s famous line comes into my head anytime I see a deer. “Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn!” I don’t know if there’s a point of exclamation there or not, but I feel strongly there should be just for emphasis.

On an only tangentially related note, I watched The Sound of Music last night, so I have that aggravating song in my head. “Doe, a deer, a female deer…” It truly is the song that never ends.

One of my friends dropped a bombshell the other night when she told me that there are talks of a remake of The Sound of Music. Excuse me. What? I have yet to independently verify this, but I will be appalled. APPALLED. Julie Andrews is one of my very favorite actresses (hello, Mary Poppins!), and no one is going to be a better Maria. No one. Not even you, Carrie Underwood. It’s practically blasphemy. And you should be ashamed of yourself.

Doe, a deer

A quick update on the DeNovo NT surgery saga. I’m freshly back from another PT session, during which T-Bone tried a new trick to try and help some of the lingering issues. He used the Graston blades to work out what might be some scar tissue building up around my patellar tendon. Some people might tell you this is extremely painful. In fact, you can see for yourself just by looking it up on YouTube. Go ahead; I’ll wait. Good news for me, though, is that a large portion of my knee is totally numb. I hardly felt him doing anything. I felt pressure, but not really any pain until he got to the very outside (lateral) edge. And it was only a brief spot of pain. So take that, pain! Numbness rocks.

I cannot tell you how happy I am to be working with T-Bone. Not because of the Graston, but because he was telling me about some research that he was reading last night and trying to reassure me that we just have to work through this tough patch right now. I’m still hoping for a Christmas miracle, but it’s nice to know T-Bone is looking out for me.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

2 thoughts on “Doe, a deer

  1. I laughed at this post. Multiple times. Loudly. (fragments used for emphasis)

    • I hope not at my righteous indignation that Carrie Underwood thinks she can remake The Sound of Music! Because I looked it up, and it’s apparently supposed to happen. Blasphemy. That is all.

Leave a Reply

