Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

With reckless abandon

Leave a comment

There are a few things in life that you should do with reckless abandon. Like love. And eat cupcakes.

I want more reckless abandonment in my life. I think that may be my New Year’s resolution. Live life with reckless abandon. Except last year I resolved to not make resolutions anymore because I’ve never gone through with one. Ever. Plus, is setting a goal really living with reckless abandonment? I think not.

So I’m going to just let things be for right now. Welcome in the new year with gusto, but no glorious resolve to do… anything. I have my main goals for 2013 already set forth in my rehab goals: learn how to climb large rocks, complete a sprint triathlon in October, and ride my first post-op century by the end of the year. To this, I’m going to add one more. I want to visit all of Indiana’s state parks. I’m not putting a time frame on this one because I’ll be off living life with reckless abandonment and won’t have time to make it to all of them this year, I’m sure. There are somewhere around 25. Maybe a few less. I’m not counting the state forests and the state lakes. Just the parks where I can either a) hike a scenic trail, b) ride my bike, or c) kayak. I need to learn how to kayak, so I should add that to my list. My list is getting rather lengthy…

So now I’m off! I hope that you all have an absolutely fabulously outstanding 2013!

I’ll leave you with a  short video from 2 of my favorite Hollywood inhabitants, New Girl and Joseph Gordon-Levitt. New Girl is much easier to spell than Zooey Deschanel, so if I ever bring her up again, she’s New Girl. JGL might also be referred to as Finger-Licking Good. Or whatever. Here it is.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

