Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

RG3 and me

5 Comments

Robert Griffin III (RG3 to any football fan out there) underwent orthopedic surgery this morning to repair his LCL (lateral collateral ligament) and reconstruct his ACL (anterior cruciate ligament). Best case scenario, his recovery will take 6-8 months. There’s a lot of talk out there about whether he should have been in the game against Seattle or not and whether or not the crappy field was to blame. But none of that matters now because he is where he is–staring in the face of a very long and tough recovery. I feel for the guy. Major knee surgery is nothing if not slightly awful. I really wish him all the best.

In better news, I passed the four-month mark post DeNovo NT and tibial tubercle osteotomy yesterday. Woo woo! Only 8 more months to go. I guess RG3 and I are now on similar trajectories, at least as far as time until the end of rehab. I’m super interested to know if he’ll have to do straight leg raises. I bet he will.

I feel like I’m making decent progress in therapy. I won’t do anything without the tape now, but it allows me to do more. Today, I was in PT and T-Bone had me doing squats on a bosu ball. Yikes. Just getting on the first time was a challenge, but I knocked out 30 squats. I challenged him to come up with two more new exercises by our next appointment because I’m ready to shake things up; I don’t want to be bored. The rest of my exercises are pretty much the same, but I’ve noticed here and there that some of the movements are getting just the tiniest bit easier. I’ve added weight to the leg press, more bend to my dead lifts, and more reps to my swiss ball leg curls. Incremental, but going in the right direction. Yay me.

The Graston continues. I asked today how long we’ll need to continue that, and T-Bone said it usually takes between 8-10 applications to see if it’s helping or not. I don’t have an accurate count, but we must be about halfway. I’m looking forward to the end of that because the more we do, the more I can feel it.

I keep poking my VMO (vastus medialis oblique) to see if it’s getting any stronger. I think it is. I can at least feel something there now.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

5 thoughts on “RG3 and me

  1. Wanted to ask when you first started rehab did you still have to use crutches or could you walk on your own? I go in next week and just wondering what to expect.

    • I started PT 10 days post-surgery, and I was still using crutches. I had been told from the beginning that I was allowed to bear weight as tolerated, so I was walking pretty well, albeit slowly, by the time I started PT. I moved down to one crutch soon after my first appointment and discarded them altogether by 20 days post-op. I was still locked in full extension for the first six weeks, though. I hope your recovery is going well! Good luck with PT!

  2. It’s been 6 weeks today and I have not put any weight on it this whole time! I have a feeling than I will still be using the crutches for a little longer.:( the only rehab I could do was the CPM machine. I can move my knee to 90 .

    • Wow. Your arm muscles must be getting a work out! I hated the crutches, so I feel for you. Where was your lesion? Mine was behind my patella, so maybe that’s the difference? Ninety degrees flexion is great, though, so keep up the good work!

  3. My arms are getting really strong! Wishing that I lived in a ranch right now. Can’t wait for the day I can walk up the stairs one day. My lesion is behind my kneecap were my femur meets.

Leave a Reply

