Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Running in slow motion

6 Comments

A few days ago, I took my first post-op running steps. Not because I’d been given permission (that won’t come until 12 months post-op at the earliest). And not because I thought it was a good idea. I ran to stop my cat from throwing up in my tennis shoes. My special, bright blue kicks that I’ve been wearing every day for the past five months. The ones with the special (read expensive) orthotics in them to provide stability for my knee. The little dude thought it was a good idea to start upchucking dinner INSIDE my left shoe, and I had to run to stop him.

I probably ran less than 10 steps, so it hardly counts as a run. But still. I took the fastest steps I’ve taken in five months. Three cheers for me because I 1) didn’t fall and 2) didn’t seem to do any more damage to my knee. I also didn’t have any increased pain afterward. The morphine must be working, even while it takes away my will to stay awake.

Physical therapy last Friday was the best session I’ve had in a month. I was proud simply because I didn’t fall asleep mid-session, and I didn’t toss my cookies. Add in that T-Bone said I seemed to be tolerating the Graston better as he ripped apart any adhesions left in my soft tissue, and the fact that I was able to do 50 TKEs (terminal knee extensions) with 30 lbs, and I call it a good day. We’re not exactly doing anything very strenuous right now, mostly working on my hips and glutes, but it still takes a lot out of me. Afterward, I recovered better than I have in the last few weeks, so I was able to get in a mini workout yesterday and a full set of therapy exercises today. I’ll rest completely tomorrow so that I’m ready for another session with T-Bone in two days. There’s so much excitement in my life right now, I can hardly stand it.

I have March 1 circled in red on my calendar. Ok, actually, it’s circled in blue. But red seems more ominous. That’s the day that I go back to my surgeon. I need to make some big improvements in the next two weeks so we can talk about moving forward and not about going in again to scope my knee.

Can we take a step back for a minute? I just wrote that it has been five months since my DeNovo NT graft and tibial tubercle osteotomy. I can hardly believe that tomorrow actually marks five months. I find that kind of amazing. As my high school biology teacher always said, “Time’s fun when you’re having flies.”

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

6 thoughts on “Running in slow motion

  1. Congratulations on your ten steps of running and not falling. I haven’t tried that at all yet. Not falling is still my number one rule to live by. Hopefully, you will make great progress in the next couple of weeks!

  2. I’ll be praying for you Laura. I hope you don’t have to go through yet another surgery. Five months is a long time to have to start over again. Tomorrow I will be 3 weeks post-surgery and I am so over the crutches. Pain for the most part has been minimal which I am very thankful for. I go back on the 14th and will hopefully get to loose the crutches cause I don’t think my hands and wrist will last much longer if I’m not taken off them. I start therapy this week 3 times a week for the next 6 weeks. I have been lucky to have my church family step up and help me with my 18 month old since my hubby had to return to work. This has been a process so far, but am thankful for it and hope to have great results in the end.

    • Hi, Yansi. I appreciate the prayers. I feel you on the crutches, but I’m glad to hear that your pain hasn’t been too bad. I’ll be rooting for you to get rid of those crutches on the 14th! That’s not too much longer; you can make it! How is therapy going?

      • Therapy is going really well. I got my strips taken off this morning so now I don’t have that pulling feeling when I bend. I am also able to bend my knee slightly past 100 degrees but the Doc doesn’t want me going over 90. We are still trying to get the muscles to fire up so that we don’t have to do shock therapy. I’m working on this machine that works like the stepper but you are sitting down and the sit down bike (not going all the way around yet). My PT said that I am doing really well for this being my 3rd week post-surgery.

  3. Hi Yansi. I’m so glad to read that your PT is going well! Sounds like your ROM is good, too. I bet getting those strips off feels better; they can get itchy, as well as pull. I’ve seen the machine that you described in the gym, but I’ve never used it. Do you know if it puts less pressure on your knee than a bike or elliptical? Good luck with getting your muscles to fire up; I’ll be cheering for you!

Leave a Reply

