Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Run with Jack

Leave a comment

I unfortunately can’t embed this video, but you should follow the link and watch it: http://espn.go.com/video/clip?id=8393175.

I’m going to call it a side effect of the morphine that I’m taking, but I was tearing up while I watched this video. It’s inspirational to me for two reasons: 1) there is hope for humanity after all, and 2) there are far tougher obstacles to overcome than a bum knee. I love stories like this, stories of how people surround someone and lift them up. Gets me every time.

Stories like this are a good reminder to me not to get bogged down in the day to day. There will be an end to my journey, and I hope to even reach a point some day where I’m glad to have gone through this recovery and rehabilitation. I’m certainly learning a lot about myself. I know now that I need to take things a little slower when it comes to pushing myself and doing things the right way. Stubborn doesn’t always get you where you need to go. I’m pretty sure my mom would be proud to hear me finally admit that; she’s always said I’m too stubborn for my own good. I’m acutely aware that patience is not a virtue of mine, and I’ve had to learn how to be patient and take things as they come. It’s been a tough lesson learned over many weeks, and I’m still learning.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

