Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Mine is bigger than yours

7 Comments

Today was the big day, the day that I went back to my surgeon to tell him the things we’ve tried over the last six-ish weeks are not working. I actually think this appointment went pretty well; I was more assured today than at the last one. T-Bone came down to talk to the surgeon before he came in to see me and stayed for the appointment so he could hear what the surgeon said, and I thought that was pretty awesome.

Long story short, I’m scheduled for an MRI next week. I have to look up the specific kind of MRI (more on that later), but they’re sending me to a specific hospital downtown that “has a bigger magnet.” Which led me to show my utter immaturity because I snickered as I imagined radiologists comparing the sizes of their magnets. “Mine is bigger than yours!”

I’m curious how I am supposed to lay inside a giant magnet with the new hardware that’s in my knee. But it’s noted on the form that was given to me to take when I have the MRI, so hopefully, it’s a non-issue. Otherwise, it’s going to be like a scene out of X-Men where Magneto pulls all the nearby metal to him. Only gorier (is that a word?) and more painful.

Today was also my last formal physical therapy appointment, at least until we know what’s going on. I have a list of exercises to continue at home, and a sheath of papers with diagrams explaining the exercises and how to progress a little at a time. I’m nervous about carrying this forward on my own, but I’m trying to have a little faith in myself. I am, after all, striving to be the valedictorian of knee surgery.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

7 thoughts on “Mine is bigger than yours

  1. Laura,
    that’s great news about PT!! At lest right? It sounds like the pain is no as bad as it has been. I what you mean about the list of exercises you have to do. It takes me about 45 minutes to get through mine every day.
    I saw my surgeon yesterday at my 3 month visit ( can’t believe that it’s already been 3 months) I have to get fitted for an off loading brace that I will have to wear all the time for the next 3 months. He said everything is looking good (finally! ). He about came on glued when I asked him if I could start running again. He not so nicely told that there will be no for 3 to 4 months if I was lucky!
    Anyways, I really hope everthing goes really well with your MRI next week. Hope they can finds some answers for you!
    Jesika

    • Hi Jesika. Sounds like you’re progressing well! I hope that the new brace isn’t too cumbersome for you, especially since you’ll have to wear it all the time. I can’t believe you’re even thinking about running already; I think that’s great! But you should definitely listen to your doctor, even if it’s hard to be patient. :)

  2. Your hardware is undoubtedly MRI-compatible. They use nonmagnetic metal nowadays, and the note on your MRI prescription probably instructs the MRI tech to use a protocol that reduces any interference of the metal with the image. I had something similar when I was MRI’d with my 2 screws still in place.

    I’m entering my fourth week post-DeNovo and glad to have found your blog–thanks!

    • Ah, that makes a lot of sense. I figured it wasn’t an issue, or they wouldn’t have signed me up, but it makes me feel good to hear from someone who had something similar. I hope your recovery/rehabilitation from the DeNovo is going well! Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Laura,

    I just found your blog! I live in Indy and use MSM as well. I had an emlslie trillat on my left knee in March of 2009, and am having an emlslie trillat with De Novo on my right in a few weeks. The two screws in my left are still in, and trust me, they’re MRI compatible. I’ve had more MRIs than I’d like, just wear sweats and clothes with no metal and dress warmly, you’ll be ok. I think they’re loud, but you can usually get a list of the radio stations.

    Hope you are doing well!

    • Hi Jess. Thanks for stopping by! Sounds like you’ve already been through the mill at least once. I hope your upcoming surgery and recovery goes smoothly! Good to know about the compatibility of the screws. I hadn’t thought of non-metallic screws, but now that I’ve heard from a few people, I guess that makes sense. I don’t know why I don’t know what kind of screws they put in my knee; I guess I just never thought to ask. Thanks again!

  4. Pingback: Dilaudid is de-lovely | Just What I Kneeded

Leave a Reply

