Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Dilaudid is de-lovely

1 Comment

At first, I figured this, the fifth narcotic pain medication that we’ve tried, would be just another failure. Previously, I’d tried Tramadol (did nothing to decrease the pain), Norco (made me heave), Percocet (made me heave harder) and morphine (made me heave and made me feel like a zombie). So then my pain doc tells me to give Dilaudid a go. “It’s stronger than morphine, but that doesn’t automatically mean it’s going to make you sick.” I told him that I was willing to try it, but I was not willing to try it without a side of Zofran. He’d wanted me to try the morphine without the side of Zofran to see if I can tolerate it (I can’t), but there was no way I was about to try another narcotic without my anti-nausea medicine. I think he saw the look of panic on my face because he said to go for it. So far, so good. It doesn’t really help the pain a whole lot, but the side effects are tolerable. I’m a little shocked, and I keep waiting for the bad things to happen.

While I have a constant low level of nausea, it’s not enough to make me stop eating. I get a little dizzy or light-headed when I move around a lot, but that doesn’t seem to last very long. The only other side effect is that I get what I can only describe as a “fuzzy” feeling. It’s typically faint, but it makes me feel like my mind can’t keep up and my tongue itches. This is the first of the drugs that has made me decide not to drive within 3-4 hours of having taken a dose. Because whoa!

On a somewhat related note, I had my MRI this morning. As I was sitting down on the table that goes inside the giant magnet, the tech said, “I’m sorry, but I can’t tell you exactly how long this is going to take. We’ve never done this before.”

Excuse me? I’m kind of over being someone’s guinea pig. “What, exactly, have you not done before?”

“Any of it. We’ve never done the cartilage mapping before. We’ve got one of our orthopedic docs here to make sure we’re getting good images, but you might hear long periods of silence while we’re discussing exactly what we need to do.” I guess the size of the magnet doesn’t matter if they don’t know what to do with it.

Terrific. (LG, that one was for you.)

I had to lay perfectly still, with my knee trapped in a high-tech “cage,” for well over an hour. Actually, that’s not too much more than I’ve had with my other scans; they’ve usually been around 45 minutes. I was having trouble keeping still after what I thought was about the first 30 minutes. Could have been 10. Maybe even 5. By the end, my knee was a throbbing mass of pain, and I had trouble walking out of the radiology department. They were super nice and thanked me for being patient with them, but what else was I going to do?

The physicist (sounds pretty important, right?) is supposed to look at the scans and complete the mapping tomorrow, and then it’s back to the surgeon next week. Crossing all my fingers and toes that something shows up and that it can be easily fixed!

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

One thought on “Dilaudid is de-lovely

  1. Laura:

    My fingers are crossed for you too! Hopefully, you will have a fixable answer soon. Hang in there and maybe the Dilaudid will help kill the pain and/or let you sleep a lot until you have a solution. Waiting and not knowing is rough.

Leave a Reply

