Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

What will you do for an iPad?

Leave a comment

Now reread that title to the tune of “What would you do for a Klondike bar?” It’s instantly better, right?

I’ve long been jealous of the persons around me who tap, tap, tap away on their iPads (and now various other handheld tablets). But I’ve never really felt that I could personally justify shelling out the money to buy one of those sleek little technological marvels. I have my computer and my smart phone (which, let’s face it, is pretty much just a small tablet), and I don’t really have the need for more. But that hasn’t stopped me from wanting one. From coveting my neighbor’s possessions.

Now I have a chance to win one. My employer is sponsoring an employee weight loss challenge, and the person who loses the largest percentage of weight will win an iPad. There’s also a random drawing from everyone signed up for a second iPad. I could stand to lose some weight, but more importantly, I can win something that I’ve wanted for years… basically, my whole life.

But how to do this? I have to admit that I have a tough time keeping a healthy diet. I really don’t like to cook, so my very existence is dependent on the convenient food prepared for me and sold in convenient packages in the grocery’s freezer aisle or at the drive-through window at one of several nearby restaurants. As I’m plotting my winning strategy that will lead to an iPad, it occurs to me that I might need to rethink my diet.

Exhibit A. Check out this healthy dessert. It includes strawberries and at least three blueberries, so that’s healthy. Plus, just look at the presentation; nothing that pretty can be bad for you. (I should note that I did not make this. Someone way more talented than me created this masterpiece. I just devoured it.)

Dessert

I’ve tried to do better in recent years, and there are times that I’ll grill chicken on my George Foreman. There have even been times that I’ve steamed fresh broccoli. Fresh. Seriously. I didn’t even know what to do with it the first time I bought fresh broccoli. I did try really hard after surgery to maintain a good diet to make sure my body had all the right nutrients to heal, but I’ve slowly slipped back into the routine of convenience. I’ve been learning more about healthy eating habits because the people around me are much healthier eaters than me, and they luckily don’t mind all my questions about their food. What are you eating? Is it any good? (That’s often said with an upturned nose.) Why are you eating that? Is it good for you? Does it take a long time to make? Do you have to boil water or use more than one kitchen appliance?

The weight loss challenge started this past Monday and runs through June 30. That’s only three months to clean up my act and lose enough weight to win an iPad. I don’t know if it can be done, but I like a good challenge.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

