Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

A brief update

Leave a comment

If you’re waiting with bated breath to find out what’s wrong with my knee, you’re gonna have to keep waiting. That’s just how it is, son! There are no easy answers here.

I had my first appointment with the second opinion surgeon, and I think the time was well spent. I just don’t have any answers. He did point out a few things that he noticed on the MRI and the x-rays, but he wants to order three more scans (a CT arthrogram and two bone scans) to see what’s what. He believes there is a problem with my patellar tendon (significant signal abnormality on the MRI), and he pointed out a few other things (joint effusion, edema in the patella, and an odd spot on the bone at the edge of the trochlear groove). But he didn’t go into a lot of detail about what he would be looking for on the new scans. All I know is that I should end up like Peter Parker (aka Spiderman) because they’ll be injecting radioactive dye into my veins. I hope I can feel my new super powers coursing through my body. I’m going to have to take a day off work just so that I can admire my ridiculously ripped new abs. If I plan this right, I bet I will totally win that iPad without even trying. I don’t think the rules said anything against becoming super human.

Surgeon number two is going to write a letter to surgeon number one, explaining his thoughts and suggesting the scans. Surgeon number one should help me schedule the scans. It sounds weird, but it’s due to insurance. So I’m just waiting now for a call to schedule the new tests and resigning myself to the fact that it’s going to be a while before I get any answers.

While we wait together, I thought I’d share a video of an amazingly talented young man. Hey, I know I spend too much time on YouTube, but you’re gleaning the benefits.

I think I need to get a few buckets and teach myself something useful in my down time.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

