Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Three years a mile

3 Comments

I had some big news to tell my PT last week. Or at least what I was considering a big win. Back in January, I’d had a massive setback in my recovery (from the DeNovo NT transplant and tibial tubercle transfer) when I couldn’t even perform one active extension without assistance from my good leg (you can read about that drama here, here and here). The pain very slowly subsided over the course of several months to where I could do the active extensions without assistance, but the pain never completely disappeared.

WELL! I realized two weeks ago that I was able to do active extensions WITHOUT. ANY. PAIN. Without pain! Not without a little bit of pain, but without ANY pain. I was so freaking excited about this, I couldn’t wait to share with my PT. I realize that this isn’t a huge achievement, but it’s something I can point to and unequivocally say, “It’s better.”

Me: Guess what!?

PT: What?

Me: I can do one of those, I forget what they’re called, you know… where you straighten your leg out.

PT: Quad arcs?

Me: Kind of. The point is, I can do them without pain! (This is where I realized that it might not be as big of an accomplishment as I thought, and I started to downplay it.) I mean, I know that it’s not a huge deal. I guess it’s pretty small on the scale of things to get excited about…

PT: Hey, when you’re moving at three years a mile, every small victory counts!

It’s taken every last drop of my willpower not to test this. To not sit on the side of my bed and crank out a hundred extensions to see if it’s real. I should win the gold medal for self-restraint. But so far… so far the pain hasn’t come back. It’s been two weeks now, and I can still do the extensions without pain. *smiley face*

 

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

3 thoughts on “Three years a mile

  1. WAHOO! that’s great news, L-Train. Guess our workouts will have to get more difficult now :)

    • Yeah… sure. That’s exactly what I was thinking. haha. But seriously, I might have even more good news. Still waiting to decide if it’s real before I say too much and jinx myself.

  2. Pingback: The three P’s | Just What I Kneeded

Leave a Reply

