Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

The three P’s

Leave a comment

“Permanence, perseverance and persistence in spite of all obstacles, discouragement, and impossibilities: It is this, that in all things distinguishes the strong soul from the weak.” –Thomas Carlyle

I’m not going to shout in all caps or use any exclamation points here. Instead, I’m going to quietly remark that the shin pain that has been nagging me for more than seven months and at times felt like someone was tearing off the front of my leg has gone.

This shin pain was described as medial tibial stress syndrome and was an artifact of surgery, but it wasn’t specifically related to the surgery. Per se. Meaning that the surgery didn’t cause it, but the way I used my lower leg to help relieve the post-operative knee pain may have caused it.

I’m hesitant to even say anything because it seems that, when I do, things go haywire again. On the other hand, I so desperately want this to be a sign of real progress, I can’t help but be excited. It’s given me such hope over the past week.

I don’t know exactly what’s helped relieve the pain because I’m doing several different things that may have contributed to the improvement. I’m still taking Mobic (third month on that particular NSAID). I’m wearing the TED stocking about 75% of the time (taking it off for PT and to sleep since my leg is propped up overnight). I’m doing a type of tissue massage meant to relieve some of the symptoms (that part is still quite tender). I’ve only ridden my bike for about 20 miles total over the past six weeks (decreased that to help equal out the pain from riding the horses). I haven’t really walked much of anywhere (focusing on the strength training exercises).

I talked with my PT this week, and she said she doesn’t think it’s the bike that’s a problem. That’s a relief! I don’t really want to question what’s helping; I’m just thankful something is improved. On the other hand, I’d like to know for sure so that I can either keep doing something or keep avoiding something. Good news from the PT was that I can stop wearing the TED ho when the tenderness during the massage goes away. Something to look forward to!

It’s been a long 14 months so far, but I have finally strung together more than one improvement (this coupled with the active extensions) without taking three steps back. Perseverance and sheer stubbornness are the keys, I think.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

