Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

100 is about 70 too many

Leave a comment

At our regularly scheduled session last week, my PT said that swimming might not be a bad idea. I’d swum laps the weekend prior in a thinly veiled thumbing of my nose at “the man.” But it wasn’t all bad because I discovered that swimming freestyle laps didn’t cause any of the sharp pain. Likely because I’m not bearing weight, and my leg is kept relatively straight. Doesn’t matter why though; PT said it would be good to try out.

I don’t particularly like formal swimming. I like floating way better. The last time I tried to add swimming to my PT routine, per my surgeon’s suggestion about nine months ago, I didn’t make it much further than buying new goggles and practicing my fish face. I think I made it to the pool a total of about three times.

Swim goggles and a fish face.

That I practiced my best fish face is not as weird as taking and then posting a selfie while doing so… I get that.

This time, though, there’s little else I can do, so I’ve a new commitment. A serious one. I’ve been in the pool four of the last six days–two of those have required my getting my butt out of bed at 4:30 in the MORNING to hit the pool by 5. This way, I can get in the laps and still have time to shower and ice/use the TENS before heading in to work. But oh does it make for a long day and grumpy me.

On Sunday, I had a little more time in the pool and thought it would be a brilliant idea to try some single-leg squats on my right (bad) leg while in chest-deep water. I thought this because PT has had me doing single-leg squats on my left (good) leg while holding most of the weight off my right (only doing the motions). So I started doing 10 squats after every other lap (one lap = 2 lengths of the pool). They didn’t hurt too much when I was doing them, so I just kept doing them after every other lap.

Later that night, I was trying to do my prescribed exercises, and I had a considerably more pain than usual. The prescribed exercises don’t generally elicit a pain response; that’s why I do those. But that night was kind of awful. It took me longer than it should have to figure out it was those squats in the pool that caused the problem. I did 100-ish (probably more) when I should have started with maybe 30-ish. Something much more reasonable. But I didn’t think it was even really doing anything because of the way it didn’t hurt in the pool. Wrong. I’m wrong a lot about the things I can/cannot do. Sometimes I’m willfully idiotic about it. Other times I just don’t think. This was one of those times. Good news is that I’ve modified, and my PT didn’t even need to tell me what to do. So at least I can follow up an idiotic decision with a responsible one. #winning

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

