Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Grounded

1 Comment

I’ve been grounded from the bike for two weeks. TWO WEEKS. So far, I’ve managed to stay off the bike for five days. It’s not like I’ve not ridden for five days before, but it’s SO much harder when I know that I can’t ride for another nine days. Minimum. And the weather is so nice right now. I’m missing the best days to ride. Bah!

Why am I grounded from the bike? Because my PT hates me. No, just kidding. She suggested (read told) me to stay away from the bike for two weeks to see, once and for all, if it’s part of my problem. After the last two months of first less mileage and then more, neither one of us can tell for sure how the bike affects my knee. The knee tends to go numb about mile 5 or 6, so I don’t see a problem. I do have a lot of pain, if I fully engage my right quad, but that’s why I have a left leg, right? To help compensate. My kneecap also tends to slip off to the lateral side at the top of each rotation of the pedal, so that’s probably not helping. Though PT didn’t think that was too bad when I was on the exercise bike in the clinic. She gave me a couple new taping techniques to try, but I’m not sure what they’re supposed to do since I’m not riding.

I’m trying to find other ways to fill my time while I’m off the bike. So far, I’ve been relatively unsuccessful in finding something that brings me as much peace of mind as biking. Unless you count eating fro yo. I’m thinking about giving myself a prison tattoo.

While I’m sitting around, I thought I’d do a brief PSA here. Wear sunscreen. Especially if your leg is criss-crossed with kinesiotape. Otherwise, this happens.

Tan lines from kinesiotape.

#thenewplaid

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

One thought on “Grounded

  1. Pingback: Props to the PT | Just What I Kneeded

Leave a Reply

