Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Habit Forming

Leave a comment

I heard somewhere that it takes 21 days to form a new habit. Or maybe I read it somewhere. If I read it, then it was likely on the internet, so it must be true. Regardless of where I heard/read it, I took it as truth.

At the beginning of the year, I’d made a sort-of resolution (not a real one because I don’t make New Year resolutions) to stop drinking Diet Pepsi. I was drinking entirely too much for anyone, and I know that it’s really not good for you. It messes with your appetite and makes you think you’re hungry when you’re not. You’re probably jut craving some water that’s not mixed in with a bunch of chemicals.

I managed to not drink Diet Pepsi for 32 days. Except, I’d replaced the Diet Pepsi with Coke Zero. I was drinking less because I don’t like Coke Zero, but I was still drinking soda. At that point, I decided I might as well simply drink the Diet Pepsi. So I started drinking enough to catch up for all the days when I didn’t drink it.

At the first of May, I decided that I just need to stop drinking soda. Period. And since it only takes 21 days to form a new habit, I figured I could muster up the willpower to last 21 days without soda. About day 15, when I still started to drool any time someone popped the top on a can of soda, I started to tell people there must just be a switch that flips on day 21. Then day 21 came and went.

Around day 25, I started doing some research into this whole habit-forming thing. Apparently, the 21 days theory is a LIE. Well, maybe not an outright lie, but it’s the observation and opinion of some dude who wrote about it more than 50 years ago. And he didn’t even say it takes 21 days to form a habit. He said it takes a MINIMUM of 21 days. The average is more like 66 days. Crap.

Here I am, on day 29, still craving a soda. I don’t even care what kind! I looked longingly at them in the cooler at Target last night as I was standing in line. But so far, I’m still holding strong. No soda has passed these lips in nearly a month. I’ll let you know when that switch flips.

In the meantime, I think I’m going to start working on another habit. Perhaps I should try not self-medicating with cupcakes.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

