Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

The Gatekeeper (and a promise)

Leave a comment

He calls me “sweetie.”

I don’t hate it.

Actually, he started calling me sweetie, but it’s now evolved to also include “cutie.”

He is one of the gatekeepers at my favorite Indy park, and I always enjoy seeing him and being greeted by his friendly welcome. It kind of makes my day. We bonded through the Colts’ season last year, when there were fewer people in the park during the cold weather. He always knows when I haven’t been out in a while (which, since I’m there so frequently, could just be two consecutive days), and he calls me on it. “Gotta get in your ride! Gotta enjoy this while you can!” I worry when I don’t see him. Recently, it was warranted because he had been ill. Usually, it’s because he’s been assigned the other gate. Sometimes, as he gleefully explained earlier this summer, he takes a long vacation.

We once had a deep discussion about how life moves too quickly and how you can’t let work take up too much precious time. He had noticed that I was there earlier than usual one day, and I’d copped to playing hooky. He thought that was grand and encouraged me to take advantage of opportunities to enjoy life. I think the world needs more people like him.

*     *     *

I’ve been so busy over the last two months, I’ve had trouble keeping this blog current. It no longer matches exactly with where I am and what I’m doing. So, next week, I promise to make good use of the week to publish a few posts about what’s transpired and what I’ve been doing lately. It’s mostly good news! I’ll try not to inundate you, but I do think there are a few points that might be important for anyone with similar issues who has been following along–some more about PT, new pain management ideas and going solo.

One quick update for now. I’m getting SUPER fast in the pool. I’m basically a torpedo at this point. All because I bought these bad boys.

Blue swim flippers.

Yes, that’s my bathtub. Why? Isn’t that where you swim?

Seriously, though, the fins have already made a difference. I’ve only worn them a few times, but the power it takes to move these through the water really does seem like it should help build leg strength. We’ll see, I suppose. Regardless, they’re fun because now I can beat other people (who may not actually know we’re racing).

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

