Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Props to the PT

2 Comments

I covered a lot in my last post–roughly, from February through the end of April. If you’re in need of some bedtime reading material that will immediately put you to sleep, you can find that post here.

I truly believe that, had I not had the regularly scheduled appointment with my doc in February, I would not have had such a nonsensical route to now. Had I seen him even a week later, we would have been able to write the setback off as exactly that–a setback that I just had to work through. True, it was unlike any previous setback, but still.

Back to the point! The point is to continue bringing you up to speed.

Basically, the only thing that my OS and the two pain docs I saw agreed on was that I should continue to work with my PT. The next time I saw her, I was all, “No pressure or anything, but it’s now all on you to move me forward.” Good thing she was up for the challenge. She had to assure me several times that she wasn’t going to give up on me. It’s easier for me to maintain my motivation when I know I have someone like that in my corner, cheering me on.

We continued working to get my patella tracking correctly. Some of the things I did I’ve already covered in previous posts: working on the external rotation of my tibia, managing the tightness of my IT band, adding in more glute exercises and figuring out the bike thing. I continued to make slow progress.

At the end of May, my PT determined I no longer needed to attend formal PT sessions because 1) while I was making progress, we weren’t seeing changes every week and 2) I was intimately familiar with the program. Couple that with the fact that I don’t really need to have someone keep me motivated, and I was ready to venture out on my own.

I touched base with my PT a few times by email as I settled into the home exercise program (HEP) and did a little more figuring out of the bike thing (she grounded me from the bike). I was quite thankful for the access to my PT to help ease the transition a bit.

I’ve been dismissed from physical therapy a number of times over the least few years. I’ve never felt particularly good about it because I’ve either not believed I was at a point where I had made enough progress or I was worried about continuing on my own (I put a lot of pressure on myself). For some reason that I can’t put my finger on, this time was different. I felt much more ready to move forward on my own; I was actually kind of excited about it. I knew what I had to do, and I was (still am!) determined to make the knee bend to my will. I told my PT during the last session that, eventually, the knee would do my bidding; it would bend to my will and start behaving. She replied, “If you can make that happen, I’m going to start sending patients to you.”

I’m not sure if it’s because I’ve been left to my own devices or simply that it’s summer (likely both), but I’ve been doing more and pushing my knee further than I have in a very long time. Check out the post on my Challenge Route, if you want an example of how I’m pushing it. I’ve continued to make slow, positive progress, despite pushing it and doing more. I’ve not been entirely on my own, though; I’ve had some help that I’ll discuss in my next post.

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with this gratuitous picture of Elvis that has absolutely nothing to do with this post.

 

My rooster, Elvis.

Just because he’s beautiful.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

2 thoughts on “Props to the PT

  1. So…your blog would never put a person to sleep! I soak up every word. Thanks for being so candid. Just knowing another human being has the same struggles is comforting indeed! And your persistence is inspirational!
    -Your Miami PP :)

  2. Thanks, PP! I’m so glad to have connected with folks traveling the same path.

Leave a Reply

