Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Addendum

Leave a comment

I realized, over the weekend, there is one more thing to add to my list of awesome in my positive results post last week.

I was in a water balloon fight this past weekend.

I say that as if it should explain everything, but I should probably elaborate. In the midst of battle, I planted my right leg and pushed off without thinking. I took a few running steps before I nearly came unglued because of the pain that exploded through my knee. That’s not the point, but the good news is that the pain dissipated fairly quickly.

The point is that I realized I’m no longer guarding the leg like I used to do. I’m not worrying about it all the time and trying to protect it from… anything that might hurt. I think this is a big step forward. I now understand what my PT kept talking about–I just needed time away from all the medical stuff to stop thinking about the knee and stop worrying. I don’t think protecting the leg was ever really a conscious thought. I’ve talked before about how my body compensates for the knee, and I think that my body/mind was also making me a bit guarded. Seems like I’m getting over that now.

Oh! I thought of one more thing to add to the list. I’ve always been a belly sleeper, but I haven’t been able to sleep on my stomach in years. I discovered a week or so ago that I can sleep on my belly as long as I have a small pillow under my foot to make sure the front of my knee doesn’t rest fully on the bed. Now I can flop into bed AND sleep the whole night. I kind of feel like a kid again.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

