Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

I joined a support group

1 Comment

It was not intentional, I assure you. I didn’t have a choice in the matter.

At my last appointment with my OS, I was given a prescription for Celebrex. Within three days (and about 30 days before I even actually managed to get the actual prescription), I received a letter in the mail from the pharmacy.

“Dear Laura,

Thank you for filling your prescription for Celebrex at blah blah blah and taking this step toward managing your condition.

As your pharmacists, we are committed to helping you manage your condition, so we would like to welcome you to the blah blah blah Support Program. This complimentary service has been developed to make sure you have the information and advice you need to take your medications safely and effectively…”

The letter goes on, but that’s the crux of it. First, let me say that I appreciate that there is a support program like this. I’m not bashing that at all; I truly think it’s phenomenal that support programs like this are offered to patients. What concerns me is why I’m getting a letter like this now. What the hell is in Celebrex that makes it more dangerous than all the heavy-duty narcotics I was prescribed last year? Why is Celebrex more concerning than morphine or Dilaudid or Nucynta (all Schedule II controlled substances)? On a side note, cocaine and meth are also Schedule II drugs. I feel like maybe I was playing with fire last year.

The letter was helpfully accompanied by the biggest drug insert I’ve ever encountered, and I’ve seen more than a few. The sheer size of it was impressive. The pic below is only one side; both sides were stuffed to the margins with tiny print and super easy to understand (<— that’s sarcasm) chemical diagrams of the Celebrex molecule(s). Is it more than one molecule? I forget an awful lot for someone who earned an associate degree in Chemical Methods (it was really just kind of tacked on as part of my bachelors program, so it’s not like I was ever an expert).

Celebrex insert.

Who actually reads this?

I’ve digressed now. As per usual. Back to the point. I should obviously be scared of Celebrex. If you google it, you’ll find all kinds of horror stories. Even the Celebrex site itself calls out warnings for cardiovascular risk, skin reactions and GI upset (like bleeding ulcers). It’s carefully pointed out that all NSAIDS carry similar risks, but I’ve never been inducted into a support program for any of the other prescriptions, so I’m not so sure about that.

I’ve been taking it for a little over a week now, and I’m still alive. I haven’t yet really noticed any side effects. (Knock on wood! I don’t want to jinx myself.) So far, it’s much more innocuous than some of the narcotics I tried to take. I’ll let you know, though, if I succumb to the side effects.

p.s. I also haven’t noticed much in the way of benefit, but my OS wasn’t exactly optimistic when he prescribed it, so I’m not totally surprised.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

One thought on “I joined a support group

  1. Pingback: Side effects | Just What I Kneeded

Leave a Reply

