Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Confetti

1 Comment

When this video hit YouTube years ago, it spawned in me a love for a group called OK Go. Good music and quirky, fun band members are a pretty enticing combo.

Last night, I attended one of their concerts for the first time at the Old National Centre on Mass Ave in downtown Indy. Best concert I’ve seen since I saw Cher a few years ago (actually, I’ve been to two of her concerts; don’t judge). It was nothing short of amazing. I think the best part was the ad-libbing of the lead singer and his bestie during a short technical snafu–they perfectly performed a small part from Les Misérables. It was hilarious, but oh so good. I’m fairly certain the two of them spend an inordinate amount of their free time acting out musicals. They met at art camp, so it makes sense.

Damian Kulash of OK Go at the Old National Centre..

Standard crappy concert pic taken on a phone.

As you might imagine it would be if you’ve watched any of their videos, the show was packed with techno “stuff.” Sorry I can’t be more descriptive, but there was a lot packed in there. Screens in front, screens in back, flashing lights, crazy camera work, audience participation and confetti. SO MUCH CONFETTI! Confetti cannons were going off about every other song. Maybe more. I got a text this morning from one of my friends who was with me, “When I got undressed last night, confetti fell out of my clothes. Can’t say that about every night.”

At one point, the lead singer (Damian Kulash) asked the audience if they had questions. In classy Indy style, the first person to shout out yelled, “Show me your titties!” Geez, Indy. (There were no tops thrown off.) Thankfully, the next person asked some in-depth question about their stance on net neutrality. That helped save our rep a bit. Good thing, too, since the show was being streamed live on Yahoo! last night.

The audience was about as an eclectic a mix as Cher’s audience. There were kids under the age of 10 and grandparents. There were hipsters and jocks. There were ridiculously styled women and a few who looked like they rolled out of bed. The crowd was pretty awesome–lots of energy and really into the band.

My only disappointment is that there were no treadmills.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

One thought on “Confetti

  1. Pingback: Teenage Dream | Just What I Kneeded

Leave a Reply

