Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

O summer, where art thou?

Leave a comment

How did it get so late so soon? It’s night before it’s afternoon. December is here before its June. My goodness how the time has flewn. How did it get so late so soon? -Dr. Seuss

The days are getting shorter. It’s already the ninth of September. Labor Day came and went. The chill is back in the morning air. The cicadas are buzzing. All signs that summer is not long for this world. Fall will officially be upon us in less than two weeks.

Summer came and went this year like a flash flood. I’ve barely had time to enjoy the longer days, the sunshine and the general wonderful-ness of summer.

Mowgli.

Mowgli and I share the same opinion when it comes to the suggestion that winter is on its way.

Winter was so brutal this year, summer was slow to make an appearance. It was March/April before I was outside on the bike; last year, I was riding outside in January. I’ve cut back quite a bit on the cycling for the last two months as I’ve done more swimming, and now I’m desperate to fit in more rides before it’s too cold or it’s dark before I get off work. I need more time!

Don’t get me wrong. Fall is, was and will likely always be my favorite season of the year. Just the smells of fall make it the best season, but then if you acknowledge the bonfires, the hayrides, long rides through trees of red and gold, football, the pumpkins and the crispness in the air, there is just no other season that comes close to Autumn. But this year, I don’t want it to come quite so soon.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

