Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

24

6 Comments

Today marks two years–twenty-four months–since my DeNovo NT cartilage graft and tibial tubercle transfer (the Elmslie-Trillat, to be exact).

I thought I might write something to mark the occasion, but… I’m not sure that I have much to say. As you know, if you’ve read this blog at all, the last two years have been full of ups and downs, but there have been mainly ups the last few months. I’m continuing to slowly improve, at least as far as my ability to build strength. The pain shifts around a bit–hurts more some days and less others. I captured most of what’s going on in a fairly recent post about my positive progress. I’ve been able to do much more this year than I even hoped this time last year.

I suspect that, if things continue to go well, this date will come and go next year without a second thought. That’s the goal anyway. To put it all behind me.

I think the best update I can give right now is that I’ve been spending more and more time with the horses. They’ve been sadly neglected (as in they’ve been running around like fools free on pasture) this summer because there has been so much work to do with the llamas. But their show season is almost over, and I’ve had more time to work with the horses. There’s a TON of work to be done, but we have to start somewhere. So I started with a spa day for Pie.

Pie.

Pie after her first bath (took about five hours to do all the grooming and bathing). I fear she’s gotten stained this summer because she didn’t come out exactly white.

After she had her pampering, I decided it was time to try to ride. I haven’t been up on the horses since about this time last year, and it hadn’t gone well, so I was a little worried. But it went amazingly well! I was able to not only ride, but post the trot. That means I was able to pivot up/down through my knees while Pie trotted in slow circles. It wasn’t pain free, but I could do it. So exciting! I think this proves that I’ve been able to build back some of the strength in my leg because I could barely ride a walk last fall. I thought maybe the first time was a fluke, but I’ve now been on four rides, and each one has been fairly good. Lots of taping, elevating/icing and Celebrex, but I CAN RIDE.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

6 thoughts on “24

  1. So happy to hear that you can do what you love again… even modified, doesn’t it feel good? Congrats! Do what you love as long as you can. I’m waiting to get back on the tennis courts. Mine was a minor miniscus tear, but it has managed to sideline me for 4 long months!! You go!!

    • It does feel good! However which way you can do it. No knee surgery is fun. Hope your recovery is going well! You’re making some pretty big/exciting changes. Congrats to you, too!

      • Thanks! I really am. Big changes, pun intended! :-) Thrilled though for you too. PT said I’m ahead of where most people are. I only need PT once a week and can ditch the crutch around the house. :-) so happy. Tennis is way in the future though. Sigh.

  2. Oh, and I’m a horse person too. There’s nothing that smells as yummy as a horse. My childhood horses Ruby and Butterball, are still right here in my heart!

Leave a Reply

