Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

A nice little side effect

Leave a comment

Over the last month or so, I’ve had a couple different appointments where my blood pressure was taken. I’ve always had what I like to call “robust” blood pressure. It’s not high, but it’s certainly not low. It typically sits right in the middle of normal. On rare occasions, when I’m stressed out or worried about the appointment beforehand*, my blood pressure will read on the high end of normal.

Then I started swimming.

My blood pressure has consistently read at the very lowest end of normal. Actually, one reading was well below normal.

This makes up for the fact that I gained a couple pounds after I started swimming. I’m pleasantly surprised by this development, but I’m curious, too. I’ve always been active, so what is the difference with swimming? Why does it make a bigger difference than the biking I was doing? Is it because I have quite a bit of time to myself to think and meditate on my day? That might be part of it. I’m more in tune with my mind because I’m not distracted by my headphones, which are ever present when I engage in other forms of exercise. I’m not sure, but I believe I will keep up the swimming. Partly because of this… partly because I love to people watch at the pool.

________________

*I have a touch of “white coat syndrome.” No matter what this blog may have you believe, I absolutely hate going to the doctor’s office. Hate. It. I tend to get really worked up about it. I don’t think I went to the doctor once in the time I graduated from high school all the way through my 20’s. Then along came the knee, and now I’ve been to so many appointments with various doctors, I can’t keep track.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

