Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Frohe Wiehnachten

Leave a comment

That I’m managing to wish everyone “Merry Christmas!” only one day late is pretty good considering how far behind I get on here.

Display of Christmas lights.

My favorite lights display every year. Simple, but elegant and so colorful. I wish I had a better pic because it’s lovely.

I just got home from a whirlwind trip to visit the family, friends and farm. Much to do and not enough time to do it all. Good thing I have the next few days off work.

Confession. I think I’ve turned into a bit of a Scrooge. I sure wasn’t upset that it was 40 degrees and not snowing on Christmas. The older I get, the less I mind a not white Christmas. I’m also totally over the music that plays incessantly everywhere this time of year (since before Thanksgiving, in some places).

That is, unless, the Christmas carols are being sung (shouted) by my niece and ‘phew. I was treated to a whole concert in the car yesterday as we drove from one destination to the next. They went through all the songs they’d learned for their school’s winter concert. My nephew’s favorite seemed to be “We Wish You a Merry Christmas” (emphasis on WISH). There were some other tunes thrown in. The ‘phew was singing about how he wasn’t going to leave without some, but he forgot the figgy pudding part. Pretty cute.

I think I did pretty well with my gifts for the kids this year. My goal is always to buy the most annoying things to make their parents oh so happy with me. Most of the stuff I got this year had sound, but only one thing could be used as a projectile. Being the awesome aunt I am, I even remembered to buy batteries. Then I figured I’d go ahead and put the batteries in the toys because I recall when I was a kid, I just wanted to rip the present out of the package and get right to playing. I didn’t want to wait until one of my parents finally decided to help put the batteries in and get the toy going.

Since I had the remote-controlled helicopter I’d gotten for one of the ‘phews already out of the box, I couldn’t resist taking it for a test drive. I mean, I needed to see that it worked so he wouldn’t be disappointed. It worked. I crashed it into the ceiling and bookcases and the floor several times before I gave in and admitted I wasn’t a very good pilot. When I picked it up, I realized I’d managed to ding it in several spots, and the white, chalky ceiling stuff had scuffed it a bit. I texted his mother. “If J wonders why his gift looks like it’s been through a few wars… it’s because it’s authentic.”

He didn’t even notice because I had the batteries in so he could just start flying the thing. Smart aunt.

With Christmas now behind us, I’m looking forward to the start of the new year. We’ve scheduled the quarterly work day at the farm for January 1, so we’re starting off on the right foot!

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

