Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Holy shit

Leave a comment

I sent my PT a progress report last week, and I told her that I really wanted to put “holy shit” in the subject line of the email. I didn’t because I thought it might get flagged as inappropriate, and the email was important. But this is my blog, so I get to title this post whatever I want to title it.

But why the title? Why the email? I’ll tell you why! Because I’ve never made such significant progress in such a short amount of time… ever. I don’t even know that I should be sharing this progress out loud in case it’s a blip or something, but I’m too damn happy to keep it to myself any longer.

The eccentric exercises and the Graston-like (but done with the handle of a reflex hammer and by myself) work that I’ve been doing for the last two-ish months seems to be helping. Like a lot. Over the past two weeks, I’ve been able to do the eccentric phase of the single leg press with 105 lbs with minimal pain. And the eccentric single leg extension with 35 lbs through the ENTIRE ROM with minimal pain. Can we just take a minute to appreciate that last sentence? Not the part about the weight–that’s kind of lame yet–but the part where I’m suddenly able to do a single leg extension through the entire ROM. I have not been able to do that since the initial injury nearly five years ago (five years in March). In fact, I would elicit pain just straightening my leg when in a seated position. It’s not entirely pain free, but it’s a huge improvement.

I do the exercises after I’ve been in the pool, so I completely warmed up. I’m still having lots of trouble on the stairs, but I think it might be because I do those cold. I’m hoping that the improvements in the gym carry over to real life.

So, yeah, 2015 is just full of possibility at this point.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

