Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

A convo with the nephew

Leave a comment

I’ve talked about brunch with my niece and ‘phew before, and I took the kids out for pancakes yesterday when I was in town. I love taking them out to brunch and getting to chat with them one on one. Well, two on one.

This convo with the 5-year-old ‘phew yesterday was too much for me.

Me: What are you up to in school these days?

‘Phew: You do NOT want to go to Mr. Bakle’s (the principal) office.

Me: What? Have you been there lately?

Him: NO! And I do not want to go. If you get turned to blue, you have to go to his office.

Me: What do you mean turned to blue?

Niece (helpfully chiming in): That means you are in trouble (they have a card system for behavior, I deduced later), and you’ll have to go to his office. But you don’t want to go there.

‘Phew: No because he’ll talk in his loud voice! (This was accompanied by hand gestures that are similar to when he roars like a lion.)

Me: Well, maybe you’d just better be on your best behavior so you won’t have to go to his office.

Them (in unison): Yeah!

What makes this hilarious is that their principal is actually a really great guy, from all accounts. He’s one of those hands on principals who are actively involved in the day-to-day with the students and teachers. I’ve heard nothing but good things about him, so I find it hilarious that the ‘phew even brought this up. I have no idea what brought it on.

This reminds me… did you learn to spell the different principal/principle by saying, “The principal is your pal?” So many tricks to learning the English language.

Bear-shaped pancakes.

He got bear-shaped pancakes this time instead of the usual pig. “Aunt Laura! Take a picture, take a picture!”

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

