Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Conspicuously absent

3 Comments

I don’t know where the time goes. I don’t know where this year has gone. I don’t know how it’s already March. MARCH. That means one-sixth of 2015 is already in the books. Yikes.

Good news is that my right knee continues to have incremental improvements. I’ve been focused on the patellar tendon exercises for… um… a long time now. Since December 9 when I last met my PT. Over the past few weeks, I’ve been doing fewer and fewer PT exercises as I add in more diverse strength training. The knee doesn’t seem to mind. I’m pretty happy with the improvements that have happened over the last three months, and I’m excited to see how much more I can get from the knee as I move forward.

One test will be a trip to Florida next week. I have not been on a plane since the surgery in September 2012. I have had trouble even riding in a car for more than an hour, so the thought of trying to sit in a crowded plane for any length of time has been less than appealing (read terrifying). But that’s going to be put to the test in less than a week. My need to see the beach and feel the sand between my toes overrides any lingering fear of pain. I’m sure there will be some, but riding in a car has improved significantly, so I’m not too worried.

For the last six weeks or so, I’ve been working out with a gym buddy who has pushed me more than any personal trainer I’ve had in the past. I feel as if I tell you that he’s ex-Army, that should explain a lot. I meet him at least three days a week right after work, spend an hour on strength training, and then do laps in the pool. This week, we’ve kicked it up to five days. My arms and abs hurt so much at the moment, the knee doesn’t bother me at all.

It’s mostly because of this added workout that I’ve been absent from this blog for a while. I’m too exhausted to type by the time I crawl through my front door in the evening. I’ve also joined a book club (my first book club; I’m so excited!), so my required reading takes up time, too. There is just not enough time in the day to do all the things I want/love to do AND work to support all the things I want/love to do.

I think I need to work on two things in what’s left of 2015. One is better time management. And sleep. So make that three things because the other is weight loss. I gained weight after the initial injury that I never lost. I’ve now spent literally years strengthening my leg and the last six weeks strengthening the rest of me. But I’ve continued to eat like someone who doesn’t need to count cupcakes. That has led me to some internal “discussions” about how I’m putting in all this work and should see the results in the weight loss department–that hasn’t happened because I still justify all the fro yo with various reasons from a good day at work to a bad day at work to a good workout to… you get the point.

I said I don’t make resolutions, but I’m making two now (yes, it’s March). Figure out how to fit in all the STUFF while still getting enough sleep. Then figure out how to gain/enjoy all the benefits of working out in the gym every day. I feel like there are SO many people out there who have the same exact intentions that I figure Google will help me figure this out (I’m sure there are about 1 million web pages devoted to these topics).

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

3 thoughts on “Conspicuously absent

  1. The recommendation that you stand up and walk once or twice an hour when flying IS for you. I learned this in the ER after getting off a plane with a disturbingly hot-to-the-touch, gigantic swollen leg. That was only a year or so after my surgery, but it was totally unexpected. I followed the standing-up instructions on the flight back and came out fine; just telling you so you can avoid a scare!

  2. Pingback: So much | Just What I Kneeded

Leave a Reply

