Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

So much

Leave a comment

“The question isn’t who is going to let me; it’s who is going to stop me.” – Ayn Rand

In my last post, I was lamenting the fact that I hadn’t posted in a while. That was in March, and I haven’t posted since. Boo. I’ve just had SO MUCH going on, it’s been nearly impossible to sit down and write. The good news is that the knee–the reason I started this blog–is in pretty good shape for the shape it’s in. In short, it’s gotten me on a plane to the beach, through the spring shearing season and on my first jog of the spring. All good things.

I’m feeling really positive about the knee, and it’s more than the short bursts of positivity I’ve had all along. I’ve been on an upward trajectory since December/January when I finally directly addressed the patellar tendon issues. Lots of give and take, but no more taking one step forward and two steps back.

I passed the five-year mark from initial injury in March… and I didn’t even realize it at the time. I no longer have the knee on the top of my mind. Unless, of course, I’m about to do something physical that I’m uncertain whether the knee can handle. But it’s been responding really well in the last few months. I still have pain/inflammation if I do something like jog 2-3 miles; it hurts when I stop running and will continue to ache for the next 24-48 hours. But since I’ve been assured that I am not damaging the knee with activity and it doesn’t hurt enough in the moment to stop me, I keep doing more and more.

I started doing hack squats with my gym buddy a couple months ago. Amazing. I can do squats. Not half-assed squats through only a portion of the ROM, but real ones through the entire ROM. He also had me try lunges. Those are more difficult. There is enough pain that I don’t always activate the right muscles to do the movement, so I have to do them slowly and deliberately. But I can do them.

I think, perhaps, the best part is that I haven’t seen any health professionals in any capacity since January. No OS. No PT. No chiropractor. No pain doc. It’s been absolutely freeing. I respect and am thankful for all of their work because I wouldn’t be here without each one of them, but I am happy to be completely on my own.

Right now, I feel that there is no one and nothing that will stop me from doing anything that I want to do. That’s why a triathlon is marked on my calendar for October. It’s happening.

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

