Just What I Kneeded

What happens after a life-altering knee injury?

Skiing on a hill of mud

Leave a comment

I can’t believe how quickly this year is going. It’s not starting off any slower than the last one, that’s for sure.

I did another race near the end of February. Another quarter marathon. Thanks to the melted snow and a day of rain two days before the race, most of the trail was mud. Some places were easier to run on than others. At one point, I found myself sliding down hill of mud, arms flailing, screaming/laughing and cursing just a bit. Two good things about that were 1) I didn’t fall and 2) I passed someone on my way down the hill who tried to circumvent the mud.

Woman racing through the woods.

I asked my race buddy if I could post one of her pictures, and she graciously said ok. I can’t post mine because it looks like I lost my puppy. I’m not sure I could make the same face the photographer managed to capture if I tried.

At another point during the run, we had to cross a small (read super tiny) creek that usually has only a minimal amount of water in it during the summer. This time, it had about a foot of water or so, and I didn’t want wet feet for the rest of the race (I’m not hardcore like some of the people who were actually running the race as a race). A kind, older man gallantly stood in the middle of the creek and offered me his arm to help me across. He was willing to do it because he’d already lost his shoe in the mud and was a right mess. But super nice of him. There was a woman on the other side of me who held my other hand to help. I still ended up with one wet foot. Thank goodness that was almost five miles in; I had only about 1.5 miles left.

I did better with this race than I deserved. In fact, I finished in a faster time than the last one (shaved 12 minutes off!), so I did better than I even dreamed. Due to work obligations and a lingering desire to do nothing more than curl up and watch Netflix when I get home from work, I’ve managed to run exactly four times in the last 2.5 months, including the two races. This is way off the mark for my goal to run 365 miles this year. Way off. It’s also a little dumb to be running races with no prep, especially when you’re like me and have a bum appendage to consider.

To make matters worse, not only have I not run, I have not kept up with my PT exercises or… simply going to the gym at all. This is exactly the opposite of what most people do at the advent of a new year. I guess I’m not most people. I think I needed a bit of a break from doing daily exercises just to keep my knee in check. The less I do, the less the knee hurts. That’s always been the case, but I don’t want to be a couch potato for the rest of my life. Except being a couch potato for the last two months seems to have helped. So much so, I’m considering making it my new race prep strategy.

I kid.

I realized that I cannot do another race unless I spend the time properly preparing. It’s not just because my PT sent me a dire warning in the form of an email that said, “As your PT, I feel compelled to remind you that you are putting miles on an odometer that can’t be turned back (see Ferris Bueller). So think of the long term…” It’s because I am thinking about the long term. While it was fine during the race this time, my knee hurt more than it’s hurt in a very long time for two days following the race.

Two things come to mind. One is proper planning, prep and conditioning. The other is that it would likely be a better scenario for my knee if I wasn’t packing so much extra weight. Part of the problem with taking two, almost three, months off is that you might gain weight if you don’t also alter your eating habits. Or if you stress eat. So… there’s quite a bit of work to do before June. Why June? Because that’s the next quarter marathon…

Author: Laura

I have a fern I named Frankenstein. I like leprechauns, practicing kung fu moves on my dining room furniture, and pretending that one day I will move to Fiji. I dislike my neighbors' kids, anything that is chartreuse, and Ben Roethlisberger.

Leave a Reply

